30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 27: A match that makes you sad

Lots of matches make you sad. Break-points wasted, ridiculous points played at important moments, stupid challenges, tantrums in all the wrong moments, a mental breakdown, match-points squandered, one poor game that costs the match. All reasons to piss you off for a good while.

Lots of matches made me sad. None of them more than the second round of Roland Garros, this year.

They were opening the Chatrier, at 6 a.m. local time, and even though I could – yes, I indeed could – wake up a few minutes early to watch it, I opted for not to. It was Tuesday, I remember well.

She was coming off a long lay-off caused by a controversial injury, but had won in the opening round without drama. In fact, she had some troubles to finish the match, but hell, who doesn’t? And despite my awareness of her remarkable inconsistency, I thought – yes, I thought – she could overcome another obstacle. Winning ugly is still winning, right?

Heck, I woke up, didn’t put my glasses on, turned on the TV. Up a break in the first set. Fine, I convinced myself everything was fine and she would do it. TV is off, the glasses are on, the bus is taken, I’m on my way to college. Arriving there, I learn the first period professor didn’t come. I go to Latin, then, which I should have in the second period.

I turn on the wireless, and log onto the Mobile Twitter. Bum. She is down match points after being up match points.

Dead inside. It was a matter of time, then. I feel drousy, empty inside. It’s like someone I love so much has just died. I can’t stay there anymore. I get up, leave the classroom, walk to the library, and, on the computer, I log on to Twitter – fuck those people who are waiting, really. Ten or eleven tweets in a row, only saying what I feel. I logoff, get my stuff in the classroom and start my journey back home.

I arrive here earlier than I should. Talk my sister into not turning me in to my mom, sleepwalk to my room, slip into my bed and… I fall asleep.

Lots of matches already made me sad. Lots of matches will make me sad. But like this? Never happened before. And I really wish it will never happen again.

About Pete S. Liguori
Pete was born in São Paulo, Brasil. Loves sports - pigskin fanatic, tennis lover. One of his most famous quotes is "I'm no Tolstoi, but I love the Dallas Cowboys" His favorite quote of all time is "I'll keep playing", unknown author.

6 Responses to 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 27: A match that makes you sad

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 27: A match that makes you sad …

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 27: A match that makes you sad …

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 27: A match that makes you sad … | The Tennis News

  4. Victoria says:

    Which match are you talking about ?
    I thought you’d say when Soderling lost to .. Tomic I think this year at Wimbledon. Or maybe Roddick, it was def heartbroking losses !

  5. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 28: The Grand Slam you would most like to go to « Daily Scores – The Blog

  6. Lays Guerrero says:

    Australian Open finals in 2009…was tough see Roger in a breakdown moment after the match.

Leave a Reply

