30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 21: Favorite women’s Slam champion

God, there are just soooo many players I could put here. In fact, not. I have Kim, but then about 90% of all my WTA part of the Tennis Challenge would be Kim. We no want it, right? I, at least, don’t. Well. My other WTA favorites are all Slam-less – Wickmayer, Pavs, Bartoli, Dulgheru. The other players I like and support – Dementieva and Safina – also… eh.

I would just love to select one of the latter two here. But, unfortunately… videogames doesn’t count.

So, for the Day 21 (only nine to go!) I pick the woman who won more Grand Slams than anyone else in pro tennis, if you count singles, doubles and mixed doubles, and whose record is likely to stand, for like, the eternity and beyond.

Awesomeness

Martina Navratilova. I did already throw some words about her on the ‘favorite retired women’s player’ post, here’s the link in case you want to relieve it. So I will just copy and paste, because that’s pretty much the reason why:

“Before finishing, I will make an amend to include Martina Navratilova in this post. Never watched her playing, but do I need to? She won 167 singles titles, countless doubles’, and also completed the career Slam in mixed doubles. For God’s sakes, she won the US Open with one of the Bryans in 2006, and she was almost 50, no?

But I don’t like Martina for her titles – though they, yes, helped me, which is pretty ironic, since I usually dislike the dominant ones – or her lopsided head-to-heads (check out these ones v. Shriver, v. Garrison and v. Evert, which is not lopsided, but must be the GOAT).

What I do like in Navratilova is her personality. She just goes out and speaks it. And, as long as you’re not talking bananas – and as far as I’ve already read from her quotes, it’s not the case – there we have something I admire”

 

Useful:

Prologue and explanation

Day 1 – Favorite men’s player

Day 2 – Favorite women’s player

Day 3 – Favorite doubles team

Day 4 – Least favorite men’s player

Day 5 – Least favorite women’s player

Day 6 – Most memorable match

Day 7 – First player you became a fan of

Day 8 – Earliest tennis memory

Day 9 – Favorite retired men’s player

Day 10 – Favorite retired women’s player

Day 11 – A player nobody would expect you to love

Day 12 – A player that you aren’t a fan of but you respect

Day 13 – Favorite Grand Slam tournament

Day 14 – Favorite non-Slam tournament

Day 15 – Most attractive women’s player

Day 16 – Most attractive men’s player

Day 17 – Favorite women’s outfit

Day 18 – Favorite men’s outfit

Day 19 – Who were the #1 the day you were born

Day 20 – Favorite men’s Slam champion

About Pete S. Liguori
Pete was born in São Paulo, Brasil. Loves sports - pigskin fanatic, tennis lover. One of his most famous quotes is "I'm no Tolstoi, but I love the Dallas Cowboys" His favorite quote of all time is "I'll keep playing", unknown author.

5 Responses to 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 21: Favorite women’s Slam champion

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 21: Favorite women's Slam …

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 21: Favorite women's Slam … | The Tennis News

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 21: Favorite women's Slam … « Tennis Community

  4. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 22: Favorite umpire « Daily Scores – The Blog

  5. Michel says:

    I would pick Bepa, but… I pick Hingis

Leave a Reply

