30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 11: A player nobody would expect you to love

oboHow can one possible know what is expected from him? Tennis-wise? As I write this post, I’m still trying to figure this one out. But the show must go on, and a while ago I already had chosen who will illustrate this post.

It’s a woman. And she’s not among that group of four or five I always bring up when talking about my tennis acquaintances (huh… can I use this word?). I also wasn’t a fan of her in a first moment, then I started respecting her and the respect evolved into cheering.

 

Playing tennis, of course. Because that's why.

So, even though I won’t root for her if she plays one of my Tier I favorites, I can say Bethanie Mattek-Sands is the player nobody would expect me to love/like. Surprised? Because I was surprised myself when I realized I liked her. That’s guaranteed her entrance in this list.

And why I surprised myself? Well, I don’t know. I have this feeling only girls, mainly American girls and ultimate WTA KADs like Bethanie – and I meet none of these requirements. And did I mention I didn’t like her before? You may find the story here, a post I wrote, dedicated to her and Fish, by the time of Roland Garros, praising their top rankings among American players.

In case you won’t click the hyperlink (most of you), here goes a quick recap: I always thought she was just seeking for attention to make up for her lack of results and keep her on the spotlight. And for a long time I believed that, thought she was way overrated, and that I could never like a player for those reasons.

But just like that, she started winning. Not enough to get her to the top-10, or to a Grand Slam final, but enough to attract some attention to her results. Well, kinda – she will be forever remembered by her… well, that thing she wore at the Wimbledon players’ party.

Whatever. She’s the American #1 as of today. And it’s not about circumstances (ok, totally is), but about saying ‘hi’ and taking the Chances on a romantic date, on a rooftop, drinking wine, to the light of two candles. If life gives you lemons… or if injuries sideline the Williams sisters, you go out there and turn into the #1 American.

 

Useful:

Prologue and explanation

Day 1 – Favorite men’s player

Day 2 – Favorite women’s player

Day 3 – Favorite doubles team

Day 4 – Least favorite men’s player

Day 5 – Least favorite women’s player

Day 6 – Most memorable match

Day 7 – First player you became a fan of

Day 8 – Earliest tennis memory

Day 9 – Favorite retired men’s player

Day 10 – Favorite retired women’s player

About Pete S. Liguori
Pete was born in São Paulo, Brasil. Loves sports - pigskin fanatic, tennis lover. One of his most famous quotes is "I'm no Tolstoi, but I love the Dallas Cowboys" His favorite quote of all time is "I'll keep playing", unknown author.

7 Responses to 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 11: A player nobody would expect you to love

  1. Pingback: My Tennis Circle » 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 11: A player nobody would expect …

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 11: A player nobody would expect … | The Tennis News

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 11: A player nobody would expect …

  4. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 11: A player nobody would expect …

  5. Michel says:

    Wow! I like Beth too. Mine is Roger (yeah, I’m Rafa fan)
    For womens i would say Szavay, Misa and Aga!

  6. Lays Guerrero says:

    I have a lot of them….but will say one for ATP and one for WTA.

    WTA: Sania Mirza: that forehand, unbelievable strong. she has talent, but don’t have ambition.

    ATP: Andy Murray: the dude plays real well. he needs to win a slam, ’cause his tennis deserve it. and not be remembered like a ‘dude of masters 1000’.

  7. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 12: A player you’re not a fan of but respect « Daily Scores – The Blog

Leave a Reply

