30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 6: Most memorable match

Oh, most memorable match. Cannot be other than this one, right? Everything favored it, and I will never forget this match as long as I live.

2011. Melbourne. Even though Kim arrived as the 3rd seed, she was considered by many as the main contender of the Australian Open – without Serena, this was Kimmie’s golden chance to finally win a Slam outside Flushing Meadows.

All in all, it turned out to be one of the most special events for me. On the late night and early hours of the summer vacations, I somehow decided to change Daily Scores’ focus. A light shone from above, must’ve been that, because before, you might remember, the feed was dedicated exclusively for results. No comments, no personal touch, nothing – though I commentated the matches during the US Open (my follower count was so low at the time few people will remember that).

But the Australian Open changed everything, and I might be dropping a tear or two as I’m writing this post. I started to interact more with people, and the other way around. I liked it so much I don’t even post the results anymore. And now I have a blog. So, the Aussie.

Kimmie debuted vs. Dinara Safina. Two cutties – I love both. But Clijsters brought in her killer form and didn’t drop a single game to reach the second round. Was a massacre – which I had to watch the final moments via stream, since the TV had cut to Ana Ivanovic’s heartbreak loss to Ekaterina Makarova. In the second round, Kim – sporting a Fila green kit that reminded me of a little fairy my 6-yo sis loves – got rid of Carla Navarro and her boy-ish haircut. Kim started to show that side of her game that still haunts her – the UFE machine, the walkabout and stuff. Even so, she got rid of Alize Cornet on her birthday and defeated Makarova herself (right? I’m not sure; this match was set to start at 8 a.m. and that was too much for me) to reach the Quarterfinals.

One of the most hideous matches I’ve ever and will ever watch vs. Radwanska. Kim played some awful tennis but escaped with the win – don’t ask. Semifinals. I was so nervous when she faced off with Zvonareva, but things fell into place as she cut off the UFEs, improved the angled balls and counted with the lack of focus from Vera.

The final. Well, I wrote all these lines to get here. My most memorable matches of all time – that still gives me goosebumps – is the 2011 Australian Open final. I just wanted so bad Kim to win. On the other side of the net was Li Na – who had captured the hearts of everyone, etc, etc – the only player to have beaten her so far in the year (Sydney final). That fact alone made me bloodthirsty. The overhyping of the Chinese player only increased my will for blood.

You will relieve the highlights in the video, if you want. But I will never forget how I slapped myself in the thigh every time Kimmie drove her forehand out or netted a forehand. Or how I fucking lost it when she netted a backhand off a floater that even my momma would make a winner. Or how I started so business, trying to keep impartial and unbiased, until Li won the first set. And how I almost died in the rest of the match and how I reacted when the match ended.

I cried. I cried watching a tennis match. Thanks to you, Kim. And I’m almost crying right now, but hey, I’m a badass, so don’t spread.

 

Useful:

Prologue and explanation

Day 1 – Favorite men’s player

Day 2 – Favorite women’s player

Day 3 – Favorite doubles team

Day 4 – Least favorite men’s player

Day 5 – Least favorite women’s player

About Pete S. Liguori
Pete was born in São Paulo, Brasil. Loves sports - pigskin fanatic, tennis lover. One of his most famous quotes is "I'm no Tolstoi, but I love the Dallas Cowboys" His favorite quote of all time is "I'll keep playing", unknown author.

8 Responses to 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 6: Most memorable match

  1. Great choice. But I pick 2008 WImbledon Semifinal. Dementieva vs. Serena. Unfortunatelly the result was that, but the match was memorable.

  2. Good choice. This match was pretty nice, but I will remember it for the embarrassing sweat marks on Kim’s outfit lol.

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 6: Most memorable match « Daily …

  4. Pingback: My Tennis Circle » 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 6: Most memorable match « Daily …

  5. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 6: Most memorable match « Daily …

  6. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 7: First player you became a fan of « Daily Scores – The Blog

  7. Lays Guerrero says:

    Serena Williams x Elena Dementieva = 2009 Wimbledon semifinals

    Maria Sharapova x Justine Henin = 2008 Australian Open quartefinals

    Lindsay Davenport x Kim Clijsters = 2005 Wimbledon 4th round

Leave a Reply

