30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 2: Favorite women’s player

Not hard to figure this one out, eh? Unless you just met me – and since she doesn’t play since Roland Garros (please I don’t even want to remember that), this mean you still haven’t Twitter-witnessed me during one of her matches. Might not be the best experience, mainly if you’re not a fan.

She is... the kind of girl I'd marry without thinking twice

But why? Well, as you know, when I started following tennis for good she was already retired, and quickly Elena Dementieva became my favorite. But Kim then announced her return for the US Open Series. All I knew about her was: she was one of the best in her days, but had dropped the career to pursue a family. She indeed came back, played two events and in the third… well, she won the US Open. So, the obvious answer is:

TOO MUCH CUTENESS.

Kimmie’s style – I just can’t picture her screaming at someone or killing kitties with high heels – just… caught me. The way she kicked ass throughout her 2009 comeback, beating Venus and Serena and then the title plus celebration with Jada, well. Was enough for me.

And did I mention she is VERY GOOD at this tennis thing? She quickly made her way back to the top-10 – and even the #1 this year (though falling again the very next week).

After the different emotions – ranging from the Australian Open title this year and the 2nd round loss at the French Open – and despite not watching her prior to the first retirement, I can call Kim my all-time favorite. And, to be honest, I doubt someone will ever take her place – even after the definitive retirement (probably next year).

 

Also on this list:

 

2- Yanina Wickmayer

3- Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova

4- Alexandra Dulgheru

5- Marion Bartoli

 

Useful:

Prologue and explanation

Day 1 – Favorite men’s player

 

 

About Pete S. Liguori
Pete was born in São Paulo, Brasil. Loves sports - pigskin fanatic, tennis lover. One of his most famous quotes is "I'm no Tolstoi, but I love the Dallas Cowboys" His favorite quote of all time is "I'll keep playing", unknown author.

5 Responses to 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 2: Favorite women’s player

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 2: Favorite women's player … « Tennis Community

  2. I like Kim. Yeah I like her. To be honest I prefered her in the past when Hingis was also playing and they were walking around the courts together.

    Hingis is my fav, but she’s retired, then she came back, then she retired once more… and now she’s playing legends and exos.

    For today, my all favs are russians. Vera heads the list, following by Maria, Chakvetadze, Pavs, Kleybs, Nadia, Pervak (not in this order). I also like Safarova, Rezai (Nutella), Erakovic, Daniilidou, Brazilians, Kvitova and some others. Not in this order indeed.

  3. Pingback: 30 Days of Tennis Challenge – Day 3: Favorite doubles team « Daily Scores – The Blog

  4. Embora não seja a minha jogadora favorita, a Clijsters é acima de tudo alguém que respeito muito. Não apenas como tenista dentro de quadra, mas como a pessoa pública.

    Sempre evitou polêmicas e mediu bem as palavras. Quando possível dava a resposta sempre dentro da quadra. Lembro de quando assumiu a primeira posição do ranking em Paris, e em que ela em nenhum momento falou “Eu sou uma número 1 de verdade”, como boa parte do público, dos jornalistas e até outras jogadoras (Ivanovic, Henin e Dokic, por exemplo) falaram (ou deram a entender).

    Outro caso bem recente aconteceu em Indian Wells, quando a Errani vencia e “saiu do jogo” contra ela depois de um erro da arbitragem. E ela não quis alimentar a questão. Seguiu em frente, e acabou sendo derrotada pelas lesões.

    Só por esses dois exemplos recentes dá pra se dizer que nunca vamos ler ou ouvir alguém debochar de alguma eventual derrota de Kim Clijsters.

  5. Lays Guerrero says:

    Maria Sharapova…yes, I like her, a lot.

    She has the most admirable mind in the womens tennis…she is a fighter and a winner in life.
    On court, i like her agressive way to play mixed with her champion spirit.

Leave a Reply

