The light in the end of the buzz-kill

I had it all planed. Really did. I was ready to write a post – this would be the one – talking about how really amazing grass is. The background, of course, would be Roddick and Ana reaching finals this week, despite having fairly disappointing seasons (Ana more than Andy?).

But, well, sigh. I’m like, an ultra-jinxing machine – everything I say, sports related, happens. But backwards. That’s why I don’t bet.

Yes, we are keeping an eye on you, Andrew

They both had tough matchups ahead. Roddick played Andy Murray in London, but oh well, this is Queen’s. And Roddick. They are naturally attracted. Or at least used to be. But what happened today was a beatdown. 6/3, 6/1 for the Scot, who dropped only nine serving points the entire match, not facing a single break point and converting 2-of-6. While Roddick served at 83%. Didn’t see what happened, and looking at these stats, I’m completely ok with that, even glad I didn’t. Murray now goes on to play Tsonga in the final. If he wins, will become the first British player to win multiple Queen’s titles in 80 or 90 years. Not exaggerating.

As for Ivanovic, well. Fact #1, she had strong showings throughout the week: bloodshed against Tatishvilli, straight sets win against a tricky Rebecca Marino and got through also in two against Mirjana Lucic. Fact #2, and we gotta accept that, she didn’t face any “big” opponent – and even though this is WTA and Ana has had some trouble against player she should have easily beaten, the wins she had in Birmingham are the “expected” ones. Quite not enough to say she’s back. (the same way we still could not say that, even if she had won the title)

 

You can kill my buzz whenever you want, Dani. And call me too. Whenever you want. But wait, that's not an engagement ring, is it?

And Hantuchova proved that. Dani recovered from a one set down, while holding Ivanovic to a ridiculous, Roddick, Federer-like rate of BP success. The third set finished with a 6/2 triumph for the Slovak, who goes on to play her first grass final.

So, well, my beloved grass screwed my first idea of post. It did not bring a new life for Rodderino or Ivanovic – not really – although them both had a great week. That’s how life works. Being a bitch, I mean.

However, silver linings: right after Hantuchova killed the last hope I had to go on with my primary idea, Birmingham gave me a new subject to write about:

 

Yes, she's lovely. Yes, her smile is adorable. But hold on with all these "ZOMG, SHE SMILES, LET'S CREAT A CHURCH FOR HER" thing.

Sabine Lisicki. The X-Peria hot shot, who blossomed during the 2009 grass season, but suffered with an injury-plagued 2010, eventually falling outside the top-200, and returned this year as a fan favorite, beat Peng Shuai today, in two easy sets, to reach her 4th career final – the first on grass.

And then, her DelPo-comeback continues – from #216 in March to the top-80, maybe even better. And Wimbledon is just around the corner… the same grass that introduced her to the world a couple years ago.

So, yeah, thanks to Sabine I can say what I wanted to from the very first moment I thought about writing this post: The grass. It is magic🙂

 

PS: Albeit Dani and Murray killed my buzz, I’m far from hating them.

About Pete S. Liguori
Pete was born in São Paulo, Brasil. Loves sports - pigskin fanatic, tennis lover. One of his most famous quotes is "I'm no Tolstoi, but I love the Dallas Cowboys" His favorite quote of all time is "I'll keep playing", unknown author.

One Response to The light in the end of the buzz-kill

  1. NadalFan says:

    I love Wimbledon.I can not wait to start.my favorite is Nadal.

Leave a Reply

