Amazement

Superpowers, activate // Pic: Yahoo! Images

Am I late? Yes, I am. A lot? Considerably. But whatever. This post was supposed to be released on Saturday, then postponed to Sunday, but I had a full day, and Monday beat the hell out of me. So, it’s Tuesday. And I hope you’re gon’ like it anyway.

Back to Rome, now a case closed, I could not help my jaw from dropping, as Murray and Djokovic alternated the momentum during the second semifinal. After the first set, it seemed Nole was going to routine his British counterpart, but Murray stepped up, made Corretja proud and said: “Not without a fight”.

It was a great match, regardless of who would leave the court victorious – and, in a certain moment of the match, I could even bet a nickel The Streak would be halted, right there, right then, by the first man to finish runner-up to it.

(I’m also not good with people saying Murray chocked, chickened, shrunk his arm, suffocated, dug his head in a hole, yellow-ed [I don’t know if this works in English, but anyway, I think some Brazilians read my blog and they will understand], etc. It just… happened)

But he didn’t. It may have changed a lot – since I’m not sure whether Murray could pull an upset on Nadal, but as we always say, “If” does not exist. Nole finished him, chalked another victory to his professional record, improved his H2H against Andy, and on to the semifinals.

Then here, I would have written another post, but once again, did not have time. My intentions were to rant about the uberdominance Djokovic and Nadal are imposing to the circuit right now, and how it sucks and is not good for the sport. But I will leave it to another opportunity.

But ohh, Tennis Gods, you love to contradict me and shut me up. Sunday we had an amazing, this all of you who watched know – a savage meeting between Nole’s massive forehand and backhand and an overwhelmed Nadal, featuring some abusive angles, celebrations after service holds and an out-of-this-Earth display of tennis.

The outcome? The Streak lives, bigger and stronger than ever – like a Monster – and now Djokovic controls his own fate. He’s depending only on himself to complete his apotheosis, dethrone Nadal, and proclaim himself King, right on Rafa’s backyard.

But nevertheless, I’m amazed. I’m amazed how greatly Murray played in that semifinal, maybe the best he’s ever played on clay. I’m amazed how Djokovic has some extra gas to burn, and how he looked fresh in the final after looking nearly gone in the semis. I’m amazed how he’s breaking records, and how he’s playing Nadal on clay. I’m amazed how he can take over the number 1 at the French Open – just like Nadal did last year and Federer started doing in 2009. I’m amazed how excited I’m for Roland Garros in ages – even though it’s predictable how it will end.

So, I never thought I’d say this before Nadal’s retirement, but oh well.

“Bring on Roland Garros”.

About Pete S. Liguori
Pete was born in São Paulo, Brasil. Loves sports - pigskin fanatic, tennis lover. One of his most famous quotes is "I'm no Tolstoi, but I love the Dallas Cowboys" His favorite quote of all time is "I'll keep playing", unknown author.

Leave a Reply

